Mayfly - Mayfly (Vinyl)




Pseudonym Records





Regular price €19,90

Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.
Vinyl Reissue 2013 Pseudonym Records
eingeschweißt - sealed !

Like the insect that gave them their name, the Dutch group Mayfly existed for just a short while before disappearing. In their brief lifespan, though, they recorded one truly magical and timeless album, along with a handful of singles, all beautifully crafted and imbued with beguiling atmospheres and melodies. Formed in the late ‘60s in the northern coastal town of Bergen, Mayfly recorded their self-titled album for Ariola in 1973, working with Wally Tax’s producer Martin Duiser.

The Album is an enticing blend of folk-rock and psychedelic pop with shades of the Idle Race, the Kinks, Fairport Convention and the Beatles. This reissue features two bonus tracks, the non-LP single Skew-eyed Jimmyand the alternate 45 version of the group’s first single, that jaunty, Ray Davies-inspiredBlue Sofa.

Track listing

VP99.045 LP MAYFLY - Mayfly

Chapter A
1. From Now On 4:46
2. Symptoms Of Summer 4:00
3. Dawn Of An Old Man's Life 3:01
4. The Smell Of It 3:07
5. Lemon Cake 4:13
6. Blue Sofa 2:34 - single version

Chapter B
1. The Stable 3:08
2. Intermezzo 1:08
3. Second-hand Dream 3:34
4. Blue Sofa 2:59
5. She Leaveth Me 3:06
6. Topless Bertha 3:32
7. Skew-eyed Jimmy 3:08

Bonus Tracks A6, B7