Demian & Bubble Puppy - S/T & A Gathering Of Promises (Digipack)




Buy Or Die





Regular price €9,90 (Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.)

2 original recordings on 1 CD:

- Demian: Demian (1971)

This lost hard-psych classic is in fact the second album by Texan psych legends Bubble Puppy, who’d changed their name for legal reasons. Recorded late at night at the celebrated Record Plant in Los Angeles, it’s a stupendous blend of tough rock riffs, pop hooks, glorious melodies and biting psychedelic guitar, but was sorely under-promoted on its original release in 1971, causing the band to splinter the following year.

Track Listing:

1. Face The Crowd
2. Windy City
3. Love People
4. Coming
5. Todd's Tune
6. No More Tenderness
7. Are You With Me, Baby?
8. Only A Loner

- Bubble Puppy: A Gathering Of Promises (1969)

Bubble Puppy: Rod Prince (vocals, guitar); Todd Potter (guitar); Roy Cox (bass); Clayton Pulley (drums).

Bubble Puppy was a Texan psychedelic rock band, formed in 1966 in San Antonio, Texas by Rod Prince and Roy Cox. Looking to form a top gun rock band based on the concept of dual lead guitars, Prince and Cox recruited Todd Potter; a gymnast, saxophone player and guitarist. With the addition of Danny Segovia, the original line up of Bubble Puppy was complete. Bubble Puppy's live debut was as the opening act for The Who in San Antonio.

After several line-up changes, the final roster for Bubble Puppy settled at Rod Prince and Todd Potter on lead guitars, Roy Cox on bass guitar and David Fuzzy Fore on drums. In 1967, Bubble Puppy moved to Austin, Texas and signed a recording contract with Houston-based International Artists, home to the 13th Floor Elevators and the Red Krayola.

Bubble Puppy scored a Top-20 U.S. hit in 1969 with their single, Hot Smoke & Sassafras; it peaked at number 14 on the Billboard 100.

In 1969, Bubble Puppy released their only full-length album, A Gathering of Promises. However, despite Bubble Puppy's early success with the Hot Smoke & Sassafras single, they experienced numerous conflicts with International Artists, and parted ways with the label in 1970. Signing Nick St. Nicholas of Steppenwolf as a manager, Bubble Puppy moved to Los Angeles, changed their name to Demian and signed to ABC-Dunhill Records. Demian released one self-titled album in 1971, but its failure to perform on the charts led to financial difficulties with the label and, in 1972, the group split up.

Track Listing

1. Hot Smoke and Sasafrass
2. Todd's Tune
3. I've Got to Reach You
4. Lonely
5. Gathering of Promises
6. Hurry Sundown
7. Elizabeth
8. It's Safe to Say
9. Road to St. Stephens
10. Beginning

Re-issue 2008 BOD Records
Digitally remastered

Digipak !!!