New LPs added! Click to check out!

Sammy - Sammy (CD)




Tone Arm Music





Regular price €13,90 (Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.)

Shipping cost:

Original release 1973
Re-issue 2012 Tone Arm
sealed !

It's doubtful many folks have ever heard the British band Sammy - I certainly hadn't which was kind of surprising given the band's impressive pedigree. Drummer Mick Underwood was apparently the band's driving force, with the line up rounded out by a collection of rock veterans including ex-Audience horn and woodwinds player Keith Gemmell, ex-Billy J. Kramer keyboardist Mick Hodgekinson, former Ginhouse guitarist Geoff Sharkey, and ex-Roy Young Band bassist Paul Simmons.

Signed by Philips, the band debuted with a 1972 45 'Goo Ger Woogie' b/w 'Big Lovin' Woman'. While the single did little commercially, it attracted enough interest and attention for Philips management to green light an album.

Co-produced by Louie Austin and Deep Purple's Jon Lord, 1973's Sammy offered up a competent, if slightly worn set of mid-1970s hard rock. Largely penned by Sharkey and Simmons, lyrically and musically there wasn't a lot of originality going on here (kind of like the album cover) - Gemmell's sax adding occasional jazz-influenced runs to the band's blues and rock oriented sound. As lead singer Sharkey wasn't bad; his raw raspy voice sounded surprisingly good on tracks like 'Give Me More', their unlikely cover of 'I Ain't Never Loved a Woman (The Way That I Love You)', and 'Get Into a New Thing'. Imagine uriah Heep-lite with the saxes, a little more boogie and variety ('Who Do You Really Love') and you'll be in the right aural neighborhood. The band was actually far more impressive on their isolated stabs at more-pop oriented material like 'Sioux-Eyed Lady' and 'Jo Anne'. Elsewhere the album spun off a UK single in the form of 'Sioux-Eyed Lady' b/w '70 Days' .
Brainless fun, it's actually not a bad effort, especially if you approach it with the right mindset.



- Keith Gemmell -- sax, flute

- Mick Hodgekinson -- vocals, keyboards

- Geoff Sharkey -- vocals, lead guitar

- Paul Simmons - bass, backing vocals

- Mick Underwood -- drums, percussion

Sammy track listing:

1.) Give Me More (Geoff Sharkey - Mick Underwood) - 6:00

2.) I Ain't Never Loved a Woman (The Way That I Love You) (Shannon) - 5:07

3.) Sioux-Eyed Lady (Geoff Sharkey) - 3:43

4.) Boogle (instrumental) (Paul Simmons - Geoff Sharkey - Mick Underwood - Mick Hodgekinson) - 0:45

5.) 70 Days (Geoff Sharkey) - 4:14
6.) Get Into a New Thing (Paul Simmons) - 4:29

7.) Jo Anne (Mick Hodgekinson) - 4:40

8.) Boggled (instrumental) (Paul Simmons - Geoff Sharkey - Mick Underwood - Mick Hodgekinson) - 0:54

9.) Who Do You Really Love (Geoff Sharkey) - 4:31

10.) Lady Lover (Paul Simmons) - 3:53