Crome Syrcus, The - Love Cycle (Digipack)




Tone Arm Music





Regular price €9,90 (Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.)

Psychedelic Prog (US)

Original release 1968
Re-issue 2009 Tone Arm

Track Listings

1. Take It Like A Man (3:35)
2. You Made A Change in Me (5:24)
3. Crystals (3:01)
4. Never Come Down (3:47)
5. Woman Woman (1:48)
6. Love Cycle (17:24)

Total Time 34:59


- John Gaborit / guitar
- Lee Graham / vocals, bass, flute
- Rod Pilloud / drums
- Dick Powell / harmonica, keyboards
- Ted Shreffler / keyboards

THE CROME SYRCUS was formed originally in Seattle, from where the group moved later to San Francisco. The members of this group were John Gaborit (guitar), Lee Graham (vocals, bass, flute), Rod Pilloud (drums), Dick Powell (harmonica, keyboards) and Ted Shreffler (keyboards). Also Jim Plano visited the band playing the drums, and Richard Ward was their manager.

The band released music most actively in year 1968, when majority of their singles and their only long player ‚"Love Cycle‚" was released. The music on this album is naturally based on the 1960’s early psychedelic pop/rock sound, but there are elements which stretch out their artistic expression beyond the boundaries of conventional popular music with wild atavistic guitar solos, confusing arrangements, references to classical choral music, orchestrations and pastoral flute sequences. They also created an epic song lasting over seventeen minutes. With this approach this obscure band might please both the fans of the late 1960’s west coast rock and also the listeners of more challenging adventurous art rock.

The group was disbanded in year 1973, though they did not release any records after 1969.